How Do I Get Rid Of My Recycle Bin?

I’ve heard some folks (in Bountiful) ask if they can get rid of the recycling bin or if they have to keep it.    Those who have asked don’t plan on using the bin, some, additionally, don’t like always having to pick up the bin when it gets blown over.

The answer is no, you do not have to keep the bin.  However,  don’t throw it away, damage, or use it for target practice.  I’m not positive, but I think you will be charged a fee if you intentionally damage it.

So what do you do with it?

If you are in Bountiful, contact the Bountiful City Streets Department at 298-6175.  That’s who I called to get this information.  The polite operator will put you on a bin pick up list then ask you to put the bin near the street.  They will try to pick it up in 24 to 48 hours.  They will also, appropriately, remind you that you must still pay the new recycling fee each month.

I haven’t had the time to call some of the other cities with programs, but would assume the process is the same.

Again, remember, even if you don’t want the recycling bin and won’t use it, in Bountiful you must still pay the fee each month or face you utilities being turned off by the city.

I would also encourage all who recycle (as well as those who don’t, currently, do so) to consider helping charities and using their recycling programs instead of the city’s.

Finally a bit of humor at watching a politician spin an issue.  I gleaned this from an article that, otherwise, passes along some decent information on the issue:

“I believe, and I believe most citizens believe, that this is the right and responsible thing to do, and we are committed to keeping the cost low and the service high,” said Bountiful Mayor Joe Johnson.

Um, maybe the Mayor forgot that the city surveyed residents and those interested enough in the issue, handily rejected a city recycling program.  Additonally, he also seems to have forgotten that they imposed mandatory recycling because they didn’t think they could get even 20% of the population for an opt-in program and had to sneak the measure through.

5 thoughts on “How Do I Get Rid Of My Recycle Bin?

  1. My father remembers and often talks about the sense of patriotism he felt recycling much needed items during WWII, and how common sense it seemed to do so. He is by no means an environmental activist, but is excited each time his recycling bin is more filled than his “to the dump” bin.

    Out of curiosity, I showed him your post, and his response was simply that it seemed you could do with a good dose of growing up.

    I’m in agreement with him.

  2. My grandmother did the same and is opposed to the program. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

    People asked what they should do if they don’t want the bins and I provided the information. Not sure why that would be considered ‘immature’ – especially coming from someone who indulges in personal name calling.

    Additionally, you seem to have failed to notice that I encouraged recycling but suggested using charities to do so.

  3. I have to side with Rattler on this one…and go a little further.

    Recycling (with the exception of aluminum recycling) is typically an empty exercise in futility.

    I recommend checking YouTube for the Pen and Teller “BS” (you may have to use the actual full term) episode that addressed recycling. They did a good job dismantling many of the myths that surround recycling.

  4. Thanks, Jeremy. I had seen that before, but never posted it – not exactly “family friendly”. For those interested (with a serious content warning, F-bomb included) it is available here.

    That said, however, as Jeremy noted, a good amount of recycling is, indeed viable, and tends to turn a profit (that’s you people are paid for their aluminum and other metals, for example). Paper is less lucrative, I believe, however is also a reasonably viable recycling product. As I’ve said before, you can take the goods and get the money for yourself, or, better yet, save yourself the time and take them to a school or charity (such as food banks etc) and let them get some needed funding.

Leave a Reply

