Doubling Dose Of Utah Corporate Welfare For Amazon.com

In January, I noted the sweetheart deal Governor Herbert had dished out to Amazon. It amounted to Amazon getting a cut of the tax revenue they collect by charging tax to Utah residents. I concluded:

…Amazon is collecting the tax and is getting a kickback that I don’t believe any brick-and-mortar or Utah online company receives…

Herbert and his cohorts heralded this as some great thing. I guess crony capital is so good, they felt like giving Amazon more of it. In June they announced:

…[Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Development] GOED’s board voted to approve $5.7 million in economic incentives to lure the online company here.

Amazon collected their kickback to build a facility here in Utah. This means Bezos was ablet to double dip tax payers by getting a kickback for collecting and the bribe incentive for building here. As I noted on Gab at the time, this should be an embarassement:

Lemme get this right: In 2016, #Utah gives #Amazon sweatheart tax kickback deal unavailable to local retailers if they collect tax on UT residents. Now, Amazon will have location in Utah & have to collect tax anyway.

It sure sounds like Bezos played Herbert: he get’s a tax collection kickback then dupes us for $5.7 mil to build a facility which would require him to collect the tax anyway. Likely, Herbert etc were willing accomplices. This is the type of crap I would like to see end. States are competing with each other to entice corporate welfare business to their state by offering “incentives” on taxpayers’ and local retailers’ backs. It is something the Feds actually have constitutional authority to put a stop to and I wish they would look into doing so.

 


Addendum: As I said in June, I quit directly buying from Amazon and it’s worked great. I was given some Amazon gift cards so I bought stuff from 3rd party retailers on the site (I’m not just going to give Amazon the $ by not using the card) and have found that many 3rd party retailers have their own sites that offer the same product they’re selling on Amazon cheaper. Plus, I found many online and even local retailers match Amazon prices. I’ve always tried to support the local retailers and this has just furthered it. I encourage you to spend money in your local area, it makes a big difference (especially in rural areas where the internet seems to have really harmed the local mom & pop shops that used to exist in the small towns). Don’t boycott, buycott.

Leave a Reply

